FAIL – IPv6 support – Fedora, Ubuntu et al

OK just switched from Ubuntu to Fedora and as has happened many times before Web browsing has ground to a halt. Now i’m pretty sure its anIPv6 problem but most people will deny it, there is no bug they say, turning off IPv6 won’t help, etc. etc.
Well LET ME TELL YOU LOT – There is a problem – To get to the google homepage and load it so that it reads done in the status bar took one minute and, oh, wait it still hasn’t finished.
So in Ubuntu web browsing fast – In Fedora web browsing slow. Now don’t get me wrong I believe I had to disable IPv6 in Firefox for Ubuntu but as my settings have not changed ( I copied my .mozilla settings from my HOME folder) why would it not work in Fedora.
So what advice do we get;
Well i’m still waiting, i,ve got 4 tabs open and none have resolved yet, oh, yes, here we go, no, my mistake still going 1 minute later.
“A common mistake is an incorrect MTU setting in your DSL router, PPPoE or PPP settings” – No don’t be daft
“Other common mistakes are a bad DNS server configuration and a broken local network configuration” – No don’t be daft
“which DNS servers are you using ?” – Same as before don’t be daft
“it might be fedora 10 use of ipv6 as default . that your isp is having trouble with it
or just your isp’s dns have you looked into “openDNS” http://www.opendns.com

Ah, “it might be fedora 10 use of ipv6 as default” yes aint that the truth but the “openDNS”, nah, don’t be daft, my DNS servers are same as they were. Next….

“The “ideal” way to disable IPv6 in a Fedora system is apparently to place
this line in /etc/sysconfig/network:

      NETWORKING_IPV6=no
Yes tried that one, FAIL !
So I went to Fedorasolved

su -c 'echo "install ipv6 /bin/true
blacklist ipv6" > /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-ipv6.conf'

then

su -c 'service ip6tables stop && chkconfig ip6tables off'

  1. After making these changes a system reboot will be required.
  2. If you find that anything is actually fixed by disabling IPv6, then you have found a bug. Make sure you report it at http://bugzilla.redhat.com. What ! are you kidding ! disabling IPv6 makes things work !

So I headed over to How To Disable IPv6 on Fedora / Linux & Why


Rest of pages have timed out or blank… OK, I’m gonna swing for the next person who says there is not a problem with IPv6 support. Does ANYBODY at all have any idea what the problem is really ?

6 thoughts on “FAIL – IPv6 support – Fedora, Ubuntu et al

  1. Pingback: Tech News » Blog Archive » FAIL ā€“ IPv6 support ā€“ Fedora, Ubuntu et al Ā« FREE as in FREEDOM …

  2. Did you have a public IPv6 address when IPv6 was enabled?

    Otherwise disabling or enabling IPv6 shouldn’t make any difference.

    If it did make a huge difference, there might be some sort of bug. You’ve brought it down to IPv6, maybe you can find which part of IPv6 causes it.

    Google by default doesn’t give you access over IPv6, so google loading slow because of IPv6 shouldn’t happen, unless you have an ISP that provides IPv6 with google-enabled nameservers. In that case, you should contact your ISP.

    • Hi thanks for the reply, I suspected yesterday having done a bit of research that the problem was hardware based, so I still say there is a bug with ipV6 implementation and that bug is that a lot of equipment is NOT ipV6 compatible. I disconnected my wireless router and plugged straight into the NTL/Virgin modem, fast browsing was instantly restored. My advice is check carefully that your equipment supprts ipV6 or you could end up thinking your Operating System is at fault. Oh and to the dummy who said “it’s coz ubuntu crap” I was using Fedora 12 at the time and it affects M/S Vista et al so think before spouting next time. Thanks again Jan.

  3. I had a similar, but less severe, problem under Debian a while ago. My searches for a solution lead me to this post, which may be of relevance to you. At least it makes an attempt to explain the situation.

    I cannot guarantee, obviously, that your problem is related.

  4. Can i use this command on windows server 2008 SP2 with IIS7.5 ?

    su -c ‘echo “install ipv6 /bin/true
    blacklist ipv6” > /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-ipv6.conf’

    • Hi Katie, no I wouldn’t think so they are Linux commands, I left Windows a few years ago so cannot help with the right command for Server 2008. Switch to Ubuntu Server I say šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

